Pennsylvania-Philadelphia
Options

Insurance?

For any of you ladies who took your husband's insurance after the marriage or vise versa , how long did it take to kick in?  I have a degree in ballet education but I work a job that I'm not in love with strictly for insurance purposes (at dance, I'm an independant contractor and receive no benefits).  At this time, I can only afford to teach dance once a week so I can ensure enough hours at my other job to keep my benefits.  After the wedding I plan to leave my full time job so I can start teaching more dance classes.  I want to start putting in applications now for more dance jobs but I'm just wondering when I will be able to leave the other job.  TIA!
Photobucket

Re: Insurance?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    It's almost immediate.. You don't have to wait for the open enrollment period to get insurance from a spouse, you can do it at any time that you have a life-changing event (ie, marriage).  And from the time he puts it through it should be instant, I think it almost HAS to be actually.
  • Options
    Steffy122509Steffy122509 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I would agree..if not instant deff the start of the following month.  Some places pay insurance 1 month in advance (thats how my insurance works) but usually as soon as ev erything goes through...proof of marriage..and any other documents you could get ready ahead of time...he needs to find out from his work what you may need to be added.
  • Options
    Northstar1808Northstar1808 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Pretty much as soon as you fill out an application and write a check you're covered. To ensure that you filled out the application and wrote a check on the day you said you did, it'd be best to get an envelope and stamp it with the date at the seal. That way the insurance companies know that you did this before something happened and not after.
  • Options