Connecticut

NWR Teacher moving to CT

Hi!  I am a high school English/Drama teacher in Chicago.  My husband is getting transferred to NYC, so we are planning to move to CT over the summer.  I posted on the Nest CT board, but they suggested coming over here b/c so many of you are teachers.

What I am looking for is suggestions for where to live (in a community that would be convenient for DH to commute to NYC) and where to work.  At the moment I teach at a small public neighborhood school in a low-income urban neighborhood with high spec. ed. and high ELL populations (I've been there for 4 years, and I love the faculty and students).  I am a member of the Chicago Teachers Union, which is affiliated with AFT (which I'm told is active in CT?).  I don't necessarily want to live and work in the same neighborhood (I like not running into students in my regular life... they feel awkward, I feel awkward...).  We are hoping to buy a house with a yard (we live in a condo now, and we've had it with sharing walls with neighbors).  I'd rather not work at a charter school, but otherwise I'm open - public/private/urban/suburbs/etc.  I have an MEd, and I am certified 6-12.  So far I have only taught 9-12, but I used to tutor middle schoolers, so I'm open to working at a junior high too.

Any ideas for towns/districts I should look into? 

Re: NWR Teacher moving to CT

• ktanddevangktanddevang member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Danbury (urban), Ridgefield (suburban), Norwalk (urban), Stamford (urban). You are prob going to want to look at towns on the NY/CT border. As a side note have you thought about getting your NY teaching certification? It might just open up more doors for you. I know you have to take a different test for certification there but teachers also make more in NY.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I'm not a teacher, so I can't help you with any of that info unfortunately.