Christian Weddings
Options

Baptists married in Methodist chruch?

Kurt and I are both Baptists. He feels that we should be married in the church that I grew up in (he is a member there now as well). But it doesn't really feel right to me to get married there. I love that church and the people as well but it just doesn't sit well with me for some reason. I want to be married in the church that my grandmother was married in. My wedding is practically honoring her anyways. She mean't so much to me and it is very painful because she isn't going to be there. The church that she was married in is a Methodist church. Kurt and his parents are against us being married in a Methodist church because we are Baptists. They say because FI is soon to be ordained as a deacon, it will look bad on him. I've never heard of that.

Is that an issue or are they just being nit-picky and over-reacting?

Re: Baptists married in Methodist chruch?

• Options
    I'm a pastor in a Baptist church and we got married outside at a venue. It had zero religious affiliation and there was no poor-reflection on us. Make decisions that feel right to you-- parents can get over it. Listen to your FI and the two of you work it out. 
    PostCeremony-131.1
  • Options
    I'm not too familiar with all the different denominations but I suggest Kurt get in touch with someone at the "Baptist Head Office" (in Canada we have the PAOC for Pentecostal churches) and see if it will affect him being ordained.  If what PP said is true, then there's no reason for you NOT to be marrried in a Methodist church.
    If he still isn't comfortable with it, maybe you should listen to him.  If your whole wedding is honouring your grandmother anyways maybe this is the situation to honour your future husband and what he would like for this wedding.
  • Options