Military Brides
Options

General Questions

Hey guys, This is my first time posting on the military board but my fiance is about to go to Officer Candidate School and we were planning a wedding for January 2011. We have discussed going to the JOP before he starts and then having our vow renewal ceremony and reception on our original date, if everything works out to have it then. I'm not sure how I feel about this because I worry if it takes anything away from the bigger ceremony/reception later. For those of you that have done this, how did it feel for you?

Re: General Questions

• Options
    kaynix21kaynix21 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Personally, OCS isn't too bad, and you get to communicate, unlike boot camp...so if it were me (my fiance finished OCS in August) you can take the time he's there to just plan your wedding while he's gone, it'll keep you occupied.We thought about eloping a bit and doing something later, but I just felt it wouldn't be the same and that it would take away. We'd already be married so it just seemed like it would ruin the whole wedding aspect.I just thought that this would be our day, and I wanted to do it the more traditional way, but that was just me.It depends on if you want to wait over a year...But if he's finished his OCS training and has his degree, he may be in training or deployed by Jan 11....keep that in mind.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I think Jop is good, if you want to get married quick before a deployment, or something. I eloped and we had a cute little ceremony. But now that I'm a little older, I want to have the big ceremony. It isn't the same without family, and friends there.
  • Options
    tendonheadtendonhead member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011