Moms and Maids
Options

Unnecessary Future MIL Drama

I am having some serious issues with my future MIL. Here's the situation:

I am a recent college grad still searching for a job and my fiance is a crane operator. We have outlined our budget to be $20,000, which we think we will be able to comfortably afford (even more so when I get a job, which I am confident will happen), and even if our parents decided not to help out (which we have told them is up to them whether or not they wish to contribute).

After having an adult conversation with my parents, they offered to pay for the brunt of it, however, we settled on a number less than that since we would like to pay for the majority of it.

When my fiance talked to his mom about it, she freaked out and doesn't understand how anyone would want to spend $20,000 on a wedding, and had the nerve to say my fiance wouldn't be able to afford it because he's the only one making money and supporting me (wrong!) and she assumes my parents are poor (which they are not).

I have been doing odd jobs here and there to 1) Pay for my portion of the rent and 2) Pay for groceries, however, his mom doesn't believe me and thinks I'm taking all of her sons money.

Is it just me or is she being completely irrational? Up to this point, it's been me who has paid for the venue deposits and other random wedding expenses, but she will not believe me. I just feel she's being completely immature, everyone else thinks our budget is reasonable and within reach, while she is just trying to throw a wrench in everything and make things stressful, when they don't need to be.

Re: Unnecessary Future MIL Drama

• Options