Chit Chat
Options

lets talk about prenuptual agreements

what are your thoughts on it? are you/did you get one? why or why not? 

Me and FI have known from the beginning we were going to have one. My family has several corporations of which I will come into shares and I am in process to get my MD and thus may be sued in the future and we dont want to risk the other person or our kids so we will be starting the process soon. 

just wanted to hear opinions

Re: lets talk about prenuptual agreements

• Options
    JCbride2015JCbride2015 member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited January 2014
    Funny you ask this.  I just watched the prenup episode of HIMYM last night-- you know where Barney tries to specify how much weight Quinn can gain/lose and the paper reaches halfway to the ceiling?

We are not having one.  Nobody has any family money and there are no existing kids to provide for.

ETA: as a law student, I know prenups are not actually binding in the case of divorce, God forbid.  The judge can still do what he/she wants, so it may not be the complete protection you think it is.  Sure it helps because it shows what your intentions were at the time you started marriage, but you'll still need a good divorce attorney.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

"I'm not a rude bitch.  I'm ten rude bitches in a large coat."

• Options
    We will not be doing one. FI is adamantly against them. He feels that it is just planning for your marriage to go awry. I have no need of one, but I can understand some situations where they could be good.
  • Options
    @JCBride2014 thanks, and I loved that HIMYM episode haha

It actually is not for divorce reasons, we have always shared equally and we dont make a big deal nor does my family, its mostly so his assets and our children'ss are not affected by the family business in case of any legal problems or if I get sued as a Dr. 

• Options
    PolarBearFitzPolarBearFitz member