Chit Chat
Options

Cooking Fail

edited May 2015 in Chit Chat
My fiance offered to help with dinner so while I was at meditation he got our pork chops breaded.

I cook 'em up when I get home; while they are resting, I pull a bit of the breading off and try it (it was a little dark so I wanted to see if it was burnt or just dark).

It tasted AWFUL. I mean tasted like what I would imagine poison to taste like. I mention this to my fiance and he asks if it's salty. I told him that yes, I suppose it did taste very salty and I asked how much salt he put in the flour.

He said, "which canister had the flour in it?" LOL! He used baking soda I'm pretty sure instead of flour.

We couldn't choke it down. So we had green beans and peanut butter sandwiches.

Got a good cooking fail to share?

ETF typos and and words for clarity.

Re: Cooking Fail

• Options
    Practically caught my kitchen on fire trying to make pancakes. House smells like burnt for a week. I'm an awful cook so I'm sure I'll come up with more.
  • Options
    esstee33esstee33 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited July 2015
    For the first time in my entire life, my chicken breasts turned out super rubbery tonight. The texture was so gag-inducing I couldn't even finish it. Thankfully, FI will eat basically anything and is taking it all to work tomorrow haha. 
  • Options
    falsarafalsara member
    A few weeks ago I tried to make creamy potato soup in my crockpot.  Tasted awful, too salty, but peppery at the same time, and it wasn't creamy.  I have't tried to make soup from scratch since then. 

Wedding Countdown Ticker

• Options
    afox007afox007 member
    Not my own story but I love this fail and my dad will never live this down. One night in high school I refused to cook dinner since I was studying. My mom was asleep so that left my dad to do the cooking. He asked what he should make and I let him know there were chicken breast in the fridge.