Military Brides

downer for the week - prenump?

So with getting engaged the came the prenump yes? no? I know we don't want to think about it but with USFSPA and such (more i didn't know about and would have been happy to continue to live in ignorance of) did you guys get one (if you want to share)? Did you think about it? Was it obvious one way or the other? Did you feel like USFSPA gave you the safety you wanted?

sorry for 20 questions but I am currently of the opinion that if it will make him feel better about our situation then I'd consider it so here I am. No clue about all of it. If they really are worth the effort. etc.

Also side note that may or may not effect it because i'm not a lawyer We are getting married in Louisiana. They still run a french legal system which is dif from every other state if i remember correctly (or at least the larger majority) since this is military it makes it dif. we won't live in one place so if we do a prenump in LA is it even going to work in CA WA or NC? or could it make it more complicated later if there was a problem.

this is depressing for the record so i guess this is my downer for the week

good news was getting the FI home safe and started his transfer stuff

Re: downer for the week - prenump?

• kyrgyzstankyrgyzstan member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    You need to see a lawyer for your legal questions.

We are getting a prenup. I have a large inheritance and we both feel strongly that it should stay in my family. It will address retired pay. My friend the paralegal gave me this book http://www.prenupsforlovers.com/, and it was good reading.

I don't think a prenup should be depressing at all. Neither of us are depressed about ours.
    I hate Dave Ramsey
  • edited December 2011