California-Central

Bakersfield Venues

SO I have been engaged for almost a year now, and am finally starting to plan.  The thing is we are thinking about trying to have it in April 2010 and I know that is extremely soon.  I was wondering if anyone out there had any good/unique/different ideas on where to hold a wedding and reception in Bakersfield.  I would like both the ceremony and reception to be at one place and I am looking for something that has great photo opportunities.  In addition we are on a massive budget since my fiance and I are paying for this wedding and at the moment I am not employed....darn state of California...I was a teacher!!

Re: Bakersfield Venues

• edited December 2011
    I'm getting married in January in Bakersfield. There are a couple great locations where you can have your ceremony and reception in the same place. There is Seven Oaks, where you don't have to be a member to have your event there, The Junior League building, Pioneer Village and Bakersfield Country Club. How many people are you having?
  • edited December 2011
    I am trying to keep the numbers low-about 80 people.  The thing is I am trying to stay inexpensive.  I would like our budget to stay under $8000.  I love the junior league but its outrageous because you have to rent all the tables and chairs and if you don't use their caterers they charge you additional fees.  Where are you getting married?
  • edited December 2011
    We are getting married at OLPH and then having our reception at Seven Oaks Country Club. With 80 people I would say look at Pioneer Village. Have you going to any of the bridal shows that have been in town at all? Most places have package deals that include the ceremony and reception.
  • shroombombershroombomber member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011