July 2013 Weddings

Opinions on inviting co-workers.

I just celebrated a year where I work and I'm beginning to debate inviting co-workers. I know ettiquite says if I invite a few then I should invite them all ( I work in a hospital so it'd be an additial 20 people or so)  The thing is, with the exception of about 3 girls, I don't talk to these people outside of the workplace. Nor can I tolerate how petty and "cliquey" these adults are. Is it wrong to just invite those 3 I'm closer to or do I not invite anyone?  We're having a close family and friends reception so I guess I'm not sure how to answer the "am I invited" question. Thoughts?
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Follow Me on Pinterest

Re: Opinions on inviting co-workers.

• I'm kind of debating the same thing, but I've been with the company for about 6 months and in my current positions for about 6 weeks.  If I invited just the people I've worked with, it'd be an additional 42 people (21 people, plus spouses), which is way to many.  I've thought about just inviting just my supervisors and the people I've worked with the most (which would narrow it down to about 15, including spouses) then extending an open invitation to the rest of my co-workers/department saying they're welcome to come to the reception for cake and dancing.  I know that's not the best thing ettiquette-wise, but that's kind of how it's done in that office and my FMIL says that's what some have done in hers as well.  Either way, there will be at least 3 people from my office who will be there (FI's aunt, cousin, and neighbor all work for that same company!) and if all else fails, it'll just be those 3.