Just Engaged and Proposals

Two year engagement worth the wait???!!!

I just got engaged (may 6) to my love of 3.4 years. We always talked about getting married 7/13/13 but when I think about it i want to wait. He is in school getting his masters in education to become a math teacher and if we marry next yr I would be the main financial provider for the household (I'm a therapist at a non profit). We agreed on marrying in 2014 but still wonder if I'm being shallow... Thoughts?

Re: Two year engagement worth the wait???!!!

• Why would that be shallow? It's smart to wait to get married until you feel financially secure. If that means waiting until you have a dual income household, great! I would think it was way more shallow to get married before you felt ready just because you liked the combination of numbers on a certain date!
  • I would wait until you are financially secure, too.
    However, both FI and I contribute equally and he is still in school so it is possible.
    But, I don't blame you for waiting. Looking back, I probably would too just to get him through school without added stress. But, too late now! Yay!

Just don't start planning anything!!!! until about a year away. Your opinions will change, a lot.

First Look
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • HobokensFuryHobokensFury member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited May 2012
    We had a 2 year engagement for the exact reasons you mentioned. I was the main provider for a year and a half while DH went to school for teaching.  He finally got a full time job in January- 8 weeks before our wedding.  It's not selfish or shallow. It's smart.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • I think it's shallow to be concerned about YOU making more money than him. It's 2012 and I don't see the issue there?