North Carolina

Is this realistic?

Hey everyone! I am very new to all of this and I just wanted to see if this was a realistic budget. It is the low end with the idea that if we had overages we could realistically cover them. 

We would like to have a wedding on a Saturday night in October 2011 with 300 people for $15,000.  The wedding will be in the triangle.  Since we live in Raleigh, we are open to anywhere within an hour or so of our houses.  Because of family there is absolutely no way we can cut the guest list.  We both have huge immediate families. 

My mom will be paying for my dress and my sisters dresses so that is not factored in.  We are open to any ideas or critiques. One of the pros of having a huge family is that we have lots of help!

Re: Is this realistic?

• edited December 2011
    I think that's do-able. I'm doing my wedding on a $5k budget, Our guest list is 100 people though, but your budget is definitely do-able.

Are you planning on doing anything DIY to cut some costs?
    Photobucket
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I was planning on doing everything I can DIY.  The only things I don't want to do is the cake, catering, and pictures.  The rest I am hoping to enlist some of my wonderful family members to help :)
  • meredithl618meredithl618 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm sure you could do it. But, it totally depends on what look you want. You'll definitely have to cut costs somewhere, most likely on decor. As feeding that many people will be outrageously expensive.  Our food and alcohol alone was more than $100 per person.  This will probably be the biggest part of your budget, so if you can get that under control, you'll be fine.  

Also if you're inviting 300, you'll most likely have a lot less than that attend.  You may have a great turn out, but still, it's surprising how many people end up being busy/saying no, etc.  We invited 248 people and had 165 at the wedding.