Students

A Wedding + Grad School = Confused

I am about to begin my senior year of college, and I'll graduate in May of next year. My fiancee and I have been engaged since I graduated from high school, so by the time we get married in October of next year (16 months from now), we will have been engaged for about 4 1/3 years. So, here's my dilemma:

We would LOVE to get married in October. We live in Southern Louisiana and it gets HOT down here! October has some beautiful weather, and our honeymoon will be in Disney World, which also has great weather in October! Trouble is, I want to go to graduate school after I graduate this coming May, which would directly conflict with my wedding and honeymoon, which will last about a week altogether.

Should I delay entering graduate school until the Spring semster following my wedding, or enter that Fall? I'm just looking for some opinions! Thanks guys!

Jackie

Re: A Wedding + Grad School = Confused

• Just FYI, most grad schools are not like normal universities when they accept students in both spring and fall- usually they only admit students Fall Semester. That may help your decision. 

I'm not saying that applies to all graduate schools, but if you have one or a few in mind, you may have to investigate. 
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • I agree with above pp.  Most grad schools only start in the fall.  You need to really look into when they start and what the specific dates are for starts, exams, and breaks.  Good luck though!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker PersonalMilestone
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_a-wedding-grad-school-confused?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:684Discussion:aad45db3-fb86-401c-b483-0fcb7587b4c0Post:5d556684-8038-4f28-949b-cf62cc08c7a1">Re: A Wedding + Grad School = Confused</a>: