Registry and Gift Forum

How much to spend on wedding presents when gifting as a couple?

Chad and I just got married, and are still figuring out our budget. Our friends are getting married in August, and I'm unsure how much we should spend on a gift for them. In the past (as a single gift-giver), I've spent around $50 (I'm also a college student). As "joint" gift givers, should we spend around $100, or would approximately $75 be acceptable if we can't afford more? The groom-to-be attended our wedding, and gave us a gift worth approximately $80 (sorry to be so crass with all this money talk, by the way), but the card had both their signatures - the bride-to-be had a different wedding to go to on the same day.I know that the cost of a gift should be decided by your relationship to the people getting married and what you can afford --- but I want to get a feel for what other Knotties think would be appropriate.Thank you!
~ bonnykate "I can totally see you one day, giving birth, and you're screaming, 'This is the pain my body was meant to feel!'" Yep, that's totally going to be me.

Re: How much to spend on wedding presents when gifting as a couple?

• You should give whatever you can afford and are comfortable giving.  That being said, for people that came to our wedding, I would probably give back the same amount they gave us.  In your situation, I would give $75/80.
  • i dont think it matters that much. heck, if you can still only afford $50 between the 2 of you, then get them something thats $50... as long as it is something they will love, who cares about the price tag. people (hopefully) dont throw weddings expecting to be 'paid back'.