New Mexico

Help with dress resources

Hi, I am new to this posting, but from the looks I will get some great advice.  My wedding is in middle of October 2009, yes this year, we just set the date (I know it is coming up quickly)... I have been to a couple of bridal shops in ABQ and most are saying 8-12 weeks for a wedding gown -- I don't have that kind of time - does anyone know of a place that will sell off the shelf?  or fast ordering.  Has anyone ordered from the internet successfully?  If so where?  And who did your alterations?  It is an informal wedding, I don't want a really long train, a chapel length would be ok, but I do want something that resembles a wedding dress (not a short dress).  Thank you in advance for help suggestions! 

Re: Help with dress resources

• edited December 2011
    Have you tried David's bridal??  I got my dress and walked out...all they have to do is do the alterations and that should only take 2-3 weeks.
  • edited December 2011
    I can attest to House of Brides.  They're out of Chicago (where I live) and very quick and reputable.
  • edited December 2011
    Try jcrew.com or Dillards. If you don't mind getting a used gown, try Budget Bridal on 4th Street here. Another option would be preownedweddingdresses.com or oncewed.com. I'm not getting a dress from the Internet but I had a friend who did and it worked out OK. The fabric looked a little flimsy though.Good luck!
  • edited December 2011
    I got my dress at Speacial Moments. It is an amazing Bridal shope with an amazing staff. They are in the San Mateo and Lomas area. I got an Alfred Angelo dress, it only took about 3 week to come in and my alterations only took about a week. I got the alterations done at Chyioko's Creations. She is on San Mateo across from the Peter Piper. Good Luck and I hope this helps
  • kylesgrl05kylesgrl05 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011