Massachusetts-Boston
Options

Thursday night weddings

Has anyone had a Thursday night wedding?  I'd like to hear how it went.  My fiance and I are considering a Thursday night wedding because our party is so small (so we wont' have to meet any minimums) but I have some reservations.

Re: Thursday night weddings

• Options
    edited December 2011
    If you have lots of out of towners, I'd advise against it. I just flew out to Omaha for a Friday night wedding. The trip was justified in that we were able to spend the weekend with family in the area, but it was tough for me to get in a full day of work (I'm a teacher, and only teach until 2:30) in time to make my one-hour flight at 4:30. As it was, I had to miss the ceremony. I felt rushed and frazzled all day. A Thursday would require those who are traveling to take an extra full day off work in all likelihood, which could be asking a lot if they're already shelling out just to cover traveling expenses. If the flight/drive is a long one, they may have to leave work early on the Thursday, too. If everyone's local, your only consideration is going to be that guests may be less likely to stay late because they'll have to work the next day. As a guest, it might annoy me a little, but if I was close to the bride and groom, I'd suck it up and adapt. Hope this helps!
    Wedding Date: January 16th, 2010

Cycle #5: BFP on June 14, 2011 -- Due Date: February 23, 2012 -- Born: February 26, 2012
  • Options
    deerfield07deerfield07 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Our wedding only consists of immediate family and friends.  The furthest anyone would be driving is 2.5 hours.  I felt that since no one was from really out of town, that it would be ok.  Thanks for the feedback!
  • Options
    edited December 2011