Catholic Weddings

Writing a homily

Because we don't know our priest well, we are thinking of writing our own homily--or at least giving the priest something to work with. Have any of you done this before? Any recommendations, ideas, tips? Thanks!

Re: Writing a homily

• tnspighttnspight member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Have you discussed it with your priest?  Have you done your pre-cana yet?  You may feel more comfortable after your meetings with him.  Then again, according to some of the posts here, not every priest does the pre-cana discussions himself.  It sounds a little intrusive to me, but I'm no expert.  In our last meeting, fr told us to let him know what readings we pick so that he could write his homily.  Our situation is different though as I've known him since I was 12, and FI immediately liked him.  Our relationship with father only improved with the meetings. HTH GL
  • edited December 2011
    It's not really in your place to write a homily. If I were the priest, I  would probably be taken aback if you gave me a homily for me to just read.That being said, I think it's fine to guide your priest a little. For example, I had converted to catholicism recently, and I was uncomfortable with the deacon putting that in his homily because I haven't told all of my family. the deacon was fine with leaving it out.I was nervous about the homily because it was a big aspect of the ceremony I didn't have control over, but our deacon was great, and came up with an awesome homily.
  • edited December 2011
    Yeah...I would talk with the priest about this one.  I agree with pp that it's not really your place to write the homily.
    image "Always love. Don't wail til the finish line."-Nada Surf
  • edited December 2011