Just Engaged and Proposals
Options

Eloping

My fiance and I are struggling with the cost of a wedding and thinking about eloping.  A little background....I am a professional event planner with a company in Las Vegas, but even with my connections we cannot bring ourselves to spend the money on it.  We live a debt free life ( no credit balance or student loans) other than our mortgage, which is a modest condo. This has always been our goal.  I'm getting my master's degree (on a full scholarship) while working and he works full time.  My immigration will cost at least 3000 after we get married, we have started a savings account for that.  I include that in with the cost of the wedding.  The minimum cost for the wedding would be 11000$. (75 people) again- i'm a professional, I know how to plan and don't need planning advice. Also, if we have the wedding we would not be able to afford a honeymoon.  If we Eloped we would be able to save for a Napa Valley Honeymoon. Do you know anyone who has eloped? or are you thinking about doing it? One of my friends did it and she says she regrets not having the dress and her family there... but she also says she is VERY happy knowing that they didn't put themselves into debt to start their live together.  Is there a good way or bad way to Elope?

Re: Eloping

• Options
    A bad way to elope is eloping, not telling anyone, then having a "wedding" later when you can afford it. Another bad way to elope is to expect people to buy you gifts for an event they weren't invited to witness.You can have a JOP ceremony and include immediate family without doing a full-on wedding. 
    Whatever you hatters be hattin. -Tay Prince
  • Options