Ohio-Cincinnati
Options

Bank Accounts and Finances - Separate or Combined?

My fiance and I have been talking about what we are doing regarding our finances - whether to keep them separate or to combine our accounts.  It seems like I have talked to many that have kept separate accounts even after marriage - but the traditional thing to do is to combine.....I am curious as to what others are doing?  Any thoughts?

Re: Bank Accounts and Finances - Separate or Combined?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    We combined ours about a year ago. We've been together four and a halfyears and I've been handling his finances for about four years because he just doesn't know how to. I do have a seperate savings account tho.
  • Options
    hollsmvhollsmv member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    we haven't done it yet, but our plan is to combine.  we'll have a weekly "allowance" of fun money to do with whatever we want and then our paychecks are deposited into the appropriate accts for bills, etc.  just do whatever feels natural. I don't think there is a right or wrong way as long as there are no big secrets.
  • Options
    hccpsuhccpsu member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We have a combined account for household expenses--we each contribute the same amount to that account every month.  Then we each have separate accounts for the rest of our money (plus we each contribute to our 401(k) accounts and IRAs).I think it's important to have your own account, but this is how my parents handle their money, too.
  • Options
    mollyfayemollyfaye member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We currently have seperate accounts but I handle all of the finances with both of our accounts. We are combining, no real reason we haven't yet just haven't gotten around to it I suppose. I agree w/ PP that said just do whatever feels natural for you, everyone does things differently and you'll know what will work best for the both of you.
  • Options