Catholic Weddings
Options

NFP

I got the basics of the Creighton method at our Engagement Encounter.  The nurse who taught the class offers one-on-on counseling on unique needs.  Others I know just followed a book and started charting.  Any advice/preference on methods or if I would need special counseling.

Re: NFP

• Options
    Riss91Riss91 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    I'd recommend reading Taking Charge of Your Fertility. It is highly recommended on these boards and I used the book to learn how to chart. I also lurk on the Getting Pregnant board on the Nest because there are some charting experts on there. Many of them use the website fertility friend to actually track the data. I have been charting for 5 months now and haven't had any trouble. Good luck!
  • Options
    PressMePressMe member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    A success story!  Thanks, Riss.  Everyone I know that used NFP abandoned it.  I was losing hope.
  • Options
    Riss91Riss91 member
    edited December 2011
    Really, that's a shame. I find it to be very simple. There are tons of ladies that are charting on the Nest, and typically when someone is having trouble getting pregnant, they're encouraged to start charting so they can understand what their body is doing.

Also - many of my friends were having problems with the side effects of BCPs and have been able to do away with them by charting. So, I guess I'm a fan of it Laughing
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I have an application on my cell phone called My Days. I am guessing it might be similar to the website you mentioned called fertility friend. I've been using it for about 5 months now and it is very accurate at knowing when I'll be expecting my next period- it has predicted the exact day the last 3 months. It also gives your 6 days of highest fertility, with an emphasis on the day you ovulate.