Nevada-Las Vegas
Options

Play/DNP List?

Hi, everyone :)

For those working with a DJ/band, do you have a play/do not play list?  If so, care to share?

I'm wondering if our list is too long - haha!  I'm a musician, so I'm picky about what should/should not be played.  I'm more picky about the dance portion than dinner (for the latter, I'm fine with jazz/big band, etc).

Re: Play/DNP List?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I think most dj's limit the number you can put on the list or it would be really difficult to keep up with requests versus list checking.  Our do not play list was only two songs, ymca and whatever that song is for doing a conga line since I hate those and was not going to have one at our reception lol.

Married in Vegas - June 2011

• Options
    edited December 2011

I think our DNP list was anything Mary J Blige.. just don't like her and the I gotta feeling song from Black Eyed Peas..over played and annoying.

For the Play list my H originally tried to list every song but we ended up giving the DJ sample songs in that genera. A lot people requested songs during the dancing.

If you hired a good dj give suggestions and trust him/her to adjust the music to the vibe in the room.

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I have that problem too. I love music, and I'm very particular about it. I'm really trying to let go on this one. I'm doing a couple "must play" songs and a couple "do not play" and giving him basic styles. FI & I are doing music tonight
  • Options
    wallacjewallacje member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited December 2011
    We gave our DJ a list of all the songs that could be played and only had a few that we didn't want played, No line dancing songs at all except the cha cha slide, I know its been over done but its a great way to get everyone on the dance floor.  Our list was mostly R&B, no rap cause I don't think the wording is appropriate for a wedding.