Catholic Weddings

Has anyone ever heard of a private RCIA class?

I have been attending Catholic Mass for about 5 years and I am ready to take the next step! I actually have been wanting to become officially Catholic for a few years but the RCIA classes never work with my schedule.
The church I consider my home church offers RCIA classes on Sundays shortly after mass.  This is the church I go to when I go home to my parents house  on the weekends (I'm in college). Unfortunately, I am only able to go home every 2 out of 3 weekends so I can't really commit to a class I can't always go to.  The church I attend while I am at school also has Sunday classes so it is the same problem.

I am hoping to set up a private class that is during the week, is that unheard of?
Thank you for your help!
June 2013- Engagement Rings!!
imageDaisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Has anyone ever heard of a private RCIA class?

• agapecarrieagapecarrie member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited February 2012
    It is not unheard of. It is a possibility, especially with circumstances that prohibit you from taking part in the regular classes.

The concerns that are there is that there is definitely benefits to taking part in the class and doing formation with a group of peope. It's not merely just an educational catechetical experience, but its spiritual formation.

More would depend on your stage already. RCIA is technically for those that aren't baptized. Most parishes use the classes/process for anyone that needs any kind of sacramental education, so everyone gets lumped into there. If you are already baptized, it might be even easier to get cooperation for private instruction. (Or semi-private...perhaps attend the classes when you can, and get outside instruction for he ones you miss).