Students
Options

Future Wedding after Grad School - Problems

Hey all,

I am not new to the knot, but new to the boards.  Also, I do not yet have the ring, though my boyfriend and I have talked about getting married. We are waiting, however, for a couple reasons.

1.  I am currently an undergrad (graduating May 2011!!) in Arizona, while he works full time in Louisiana.  We have been dealing with the long distance relationship for just over a year and everything is perfect, but we want to wait to formally get engaged until we are living in the same state.  I will be moving there come Summer.

2.  I am thinking about going to grad school in Louisiana (it's either that or a job there) and he has to take the Professional Engineering exam for his job.  With both of these obstacles, we both feel that trying to plan a wedding would overwhelm both of us.  We would like to wait to have a wedding until after these are taken care of, though a long engagement is a definate.

Now, the problem is that by this  point I will have been living in Louisiana for a couple years.  His family is all from Louisiana, and they are small town people.  They are not as financially set as my family, who are here in Arizona and city people.  I want to have the wedding in Louisiana as that will be my home and so that his family will be able to attend.  It would be no hardship on my family to travel, whereas his family would need our assistance in paying for flights and hotels.  My boyfriend and I have talked about saving money to pay for the wedding on our own, we are doing well financially, but it is not plausible to pay for his entire family to travel.