Ohio-Cleveland
Options

lost about flowers

I am just getting started on the wedding planning, and even though it's almost a year away, all these websites and magazines are making me feel like I am behind!  I am trying to figure out a reasonable budget, but I don't have all the facts.  I have a good idea about the cost of the venues, dress, reception, etc., but I have no clue about a flower budget.  I know it varies depending on the flowers, but in general, does anyone have an idea about cost?  Is this a one thousand dollar item or a five thousand dollar item?  Any input is appreciated.

Re: lost about flowers

• Options
    saraparasarapara member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    It can be whatever you want it to be.  Flowers were not that important to me, so we are not using a florist at all.

I am making all of the bouquets out of fake flowers myself (spent about 70 dollars total on the supplies).  For centerpieces we are doing candles.

My wedding is in October, so if I have any flowers, it may just be some big potted mums on the altar at the church, but that's about it.

I know someone who spent about 30k on flowers and then you have someone like me who is spending nothing - so it's completely up to you!
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    JKohioJKohio member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Ditto the previous poster. Prices are going to be all over the map, depending on what you have in mind. Our florals (PIB of some) cost us around $600. That included 4 bouquets, 8 bouts, 3 altar arrangements, 4 corsages & enough potted mums for half of the reception tables (the rest had different non-floral centerpieces). FWIW, our total wedding budget was around $15k.