Chit Chat

Undesirable in laws & the family that goes with them.....

Help!  Hello I'm new to this but I need some sage advice.  My fiance & I are getting married June 2010.  He wanted to go away & not involve anyone....just him, myself & the 4 kids we have combined.  Although I had 2 children; this my first marriage/wedding.  I am very excited & want my friends & family (although small) there to celebrate with us.  He relented because he knows it's what I really want & now is getting excited.  My dilema is this:  HIS FAMILY IS THE WORST!!!!!  I cannot stand most of them & the feeling is mutual (so I've heard).  They gossip about me, berate me, lie & basically treat me as if they are merely tolerating me.  I have never in my life been treated so terribly by someone's family.  My fiance & I come from 2 completely different backgrounds & his family thinks I think I am better than them.  I have never, ever behaved as though I thought I was better.  No matter what I do, I can't get a break.  I have bent over backwards to fit in with them....even when I knew the things that were being said.  Everything I say is taken out of context & twinsted around.  My fiance has even noticed it & subsequently has distanced himself from them....fewer calls & visits, etc....I in no way, ever wanted that, but they are truly awful people.  They are also extremely foul mouthed (ALL of them)....no matter if there are kids around or not.  They are rude, inconsiderate, vulgar, tacky, ghetto, ill mannered...you name it.