Catholic Weddings

Catholic and a "Spiritualist"

Hello.
I am new to this as I just became engaged on Friday, but my FI and I have had several discussions about the implications of my religious beliefts (Catholic) and his beliefs (not baptized, raised sort of Southern Baptist, now more "spiritual" than anything else). My family is Catholic on both sides, I attended Catholic school, was active in my faith. I will admit that working after college has distracted me a bit, but I still consider myself a practicing Catholic.

Long story short (too late), I have found myself in a unique situation where I would love to have a Catholic mass, but am very aware of the situation I'm in with my choice of partner. I have spoken to the Diocese and they've been very receptive. However, the FI is pretty adament that he does not want a full Catholic mass for the wedding and would prefer either a civil ceremony or to have his uncle (Southern Baptist minister) perform the ceremony. "In exchange," if you will, the children will be raised Catholic (which I am standing my ground on).

Does this seem like a fair compromise?

I don't want to "negotiate" religion, but at the same time, our first child is due in May (yes, I know), and I am firm in my stance that the child will be baptized into the Catholic Church. I feel like I would rather give him the ceremony he wants and have the life I feel my children deserve.

Thanks in advance.
Daisypath Anniversary tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers BabyFruit Ticker Photobucket
"Anything that can go well will" ~Bumper Sticker

Re: Catholic and a "Spiritualist"

• edited December 2011
    Congrats on the baby!

I think it sounds like a fair compromise. Or you could have FI's minister be there as well to give you guys a blessing.

Generally, it is not recommended you have a full Mass unless both parties are full Catholic. I would check out catholicweddinghelp.com for more info.

Happy planning.
  • ootmother2ootmother2 member