Students
Options

For those who are published...are you changing your name? (first post here)

Hi!  I haven't posted here before and I'm not really sure where this would go, but I thought I would try here first.  A little background:  I'm a PhD student (in biology) and I am getting married one month from today!  Yay!  I am already a published author in my field.  I originally planned to keep my last name for science (publications and such), but change my last name legally.  However, I am not sure that this will realistically work.  If you are a published author, what are you doing about your name change?  Keeping your last name?  Changing it entirely?  I really appreciate hearing what others in the same situation are doing.  TIA!

Re: For those who are published...are you changing your name? (first post here)

• Options
    I decided to change mine.  I posted a very similar thread to this maybe a year ago, though, because I was unsure :)  I decided that I didn't mind changing it because I only have one publication under my current field of study, and the others aren't as relevant.  That one publication won't show up in a PubMed search, but it's clearly from the same lab, on the same topic, and I can list all of them (maiden and married) on my resume/CV so it's NBD.   Basically, I decided the publications weren't an issue, and made the decision as if I didn't have any.  For some people, it matters; it's a personal choice.  Whether or not to change your name is a difficult enough decision as it is - I will tell you, many people were surprised that I decided to do it, since many women in science keep their names.

A girl in my lab changed her name legally to Firstname Middlename Maidenname Lastname; kept her middle name, no hyphen.  She uses only her husband's last name socially.  She publishes under her maiden name.  I'm not sure if that's 'legal' as far as journals are concerned, but she hasn't had any issues.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic