Students

should I just quit my job over the summer?

Hey everyone. I am a full time student and also a part-time childcare worker. I'm also very active in church...and I'm planning my wedding for June 25th 2011! I will be ending my sophomore year at college in April 2011, and I'm planning to take a blitz course in May in Photography (basically a full semester's worth of classes every single day in May, so I will most likely not be able to hold up a job if I want to pass this class). Then June hits, and it's off to Texas for my fiance's annual family reunion (so I would have to ask off work for that too). Then after we get back from Texas it's time to take care of the last minute details of the wedding and finally on the 25th to get married (so yeah, def won't be at work then!) After that the majority of July will be spent on honeymoon and other out of town affairs.

So basically since I've never heard of anyone being able to ask off of work for three months straight (besides medical and military reasons, which this isn't lol), should I just quit my job at the end of April and start looking for work again once the school year starts back up? That's what I'm planning to do but with this bad economy I'm wondering if I should somehow try to salvage this already crappy job that I hate :)

Re: should I just quit my job over the summer?

• It already sounds like your planning on quitting. Unless it's medical, it's considered job abandonment.
  • Being a student sometimes places will give you the summer off. I usually go home (leave my college town) to work at a summer camp. All of my jobs had allowed me to leave for the summer months. I believe many companies allow you to take time off for (up to three months) but you must work once with a quarter. (Something along those lines) HTH