October 2012 Weddings

Terrible, no good, very bad day....

Over the weekend, I was riding a friend's horse and I fell off. Nothing malicious on the horse's part, it was truly was an accident. When I hit the ground I immediately felt the most intense pain of my life in my lower back. After a trip to the emergency care center, emergency room and the orthopedic - they have determined I have a lumbar compression fracture (L1). Basically the highest bone in my lower back is squished between two other vertebrae which is inflicting an intense amount of pain on me. I was fitted for a torso brace today at the orthopedic. He has some concerns about some bone chips and wants me to get a cat scan. He said he won't discuss further plans about the wedding until he sees the cat scan but promises not to make me wear the brace on my wedding day. I'm so depressed and guilt ridden. Cry
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Terrible, no good, very bad day....

• OMG, I am SO SO SORRY to hear this....sending you lots of HEALING VIBES and strength to get through this.  I know how terrible back pain is..I injured L4-S1 2 years ago and a portable TENS unit is what saved my life and allowed me to work, etc.

Keep us updated!
    ***HAPPILY MARRIED 10-11-12*** Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • First and foremost, thank God you're ok!  That is so scary. 

I can't imagine that pain, and the added worry of it being so close to your wedding day.  Praying that there aren't any chips and that you have a speedy recovery.  Regardless, I'm sure you will have a beautiful wedding day.
  • *hugs* I'm sorry your in pain.  Try not to feel guilty about it - I doubt you would have been able to prevent it and stressing out about it will not help you heal.  Trust your doctor and try to relax a little.  If they haven't set up a pain management plan for you yet, they should really get on that.  You shouldn't have to sit there and be in pain. 

Good luck and I hope your doctor only brings good news from here on out.