Second Weddings
Options

Hi everyone

Hi guys. I'm new and just wanted to introduce myself. I'm 25 and a third year law student. My FI and I are getting married in August 2010. We're both divorced so this is a second wedding for both of us. No fancy engagement story - we just decided to get married. He wants to surprise me with a ring...so I don't know when its coming! FI is a forensic detective. We met my first day interning at the prosecutor's office where I hope to work after graduation. We worked on a homicide case together. And things blossomed from there! We're quite the law and order couple. Haha. We live in a 130 year old rowhouse with our two very spoiled cats.
imageLilypie First Birthday tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers image image

Re: Hi everyone

• Options
    2dBride2dBride member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome!  I'm a lawyer myself, and recently remarried.  And believe me, there was no fancy proposal in our case, either.  I think I managed to get out something really original like, "So, umm, you want to get married?"
  • Options
    handfast4mehandfast4me member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Well, I'm not a lawyer, but all I have to say is PHEW--because there was no fancy proposal for us, either.  I thought I was the only one.  Basically, I was tired of waiting, but wasn't sure if he EVER wanted to make any sort of commitment, or if it was just me that he didn't want to make a commitment to.  So, after a particularly long evening, I basically said that.  The next day he suggested we get handfasted, as is the practice in Paganism. 

Welcome to the board!
    image Don't mess with the old dogs; age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! BS and brilliance only come with age and experience.
  • Options
    jeannigirljeannigirl member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011