March 2012 Weddings
Options

I got very exciting news today but I'm bummed about it

Background: I'm a special education chemistry teacher.  I am the only one in my district and one of the few in the state.  Over the last 2 years I have been working with a national program called GK12 through my old college.  This program brings engineering and science to the classrooms of students what normally would not have the opportunity to study these things in college. I have been working with an amazing student teacher during this time.

So I got a call today from the president of the program telling me I have been voted teacher of the year! I'm in shock and it's a great honor.  I would get  an all expenses paid trip to DC and would get to meet President Obama.  Why am I bummed you ask- well it's the weekend on the wedding! I can't go. I told them that and they said my presence was required and I may have to give up the title! No fair.  I'm waiting for them to call me back with the final verdict.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: I got very exciting news today but I'm bummed about it

• Options
    Oh my goodness how exciting but so disheartening at the same time. Maybe they could be a little more lineant because of your special circumstance. Hopefully it wills all work out and congratulations!
  • Options
    Congratulations!! That stinks about the date though.  I hope that you still get the title, they shouldn't make you give that up just because of a date conflict!
  • Options
    Holy cow! What an honor! Congrats!! I'm so sorry it lands on your wedding date, and I think it is kind of bogus that they didn't give you much time in advance! I think it's also unfair that they are willing to give your title to someone else due to a scheduling conflict :( You still are the teacher of the year!