Offbeat Weddings

A Quick Intro

Hello!  I am new to the Offbeat Wedding board, so I thought I'd do a quick intro.  My FI and I got engaged last Friday.  Prior to asking me, he checked in with my 8 year old daughter to make sure she still wanted us to get married.  She became very serious, took a deep breath in and said, "Yes, I do!"  After he said he would propose to me soon, she told him that Macy's was having a sale on rings. (Never misses a beat, that kid!)

So, here we are a couple of music/synth/science nerds planning a wedding.  We have a ways to go before the wedding (just under two years), so that we can save up for the kind of celebration and honeymoon we want.  Apart from the photographer and venue, which we want to book early, we are mostly in the idea generating stage.

Things we think we want to do:
Incorporate records into the decor
Play Vangelis for the processional/recessional
Minimize floral decor
Dispense with traditional "moments," like wedding party speeches, bouquet toss, and so on
A chocolate fondue fountain instead of a wedding cake

I look forward to getting to know some other offbeat brides and drawing inspiration from each other!

Re: A Quick Intro

• gmcr78gmcr78 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its Name Dropper First Comment
    Congrats, what a sweet story. :)
  • That's an adorable story!
    Welcome to our board :) We're not as active as some of the others, but everyone here is really helpful!
    I know we've had other brides on here that have used records in their decor! Hopefully they will chime in here. I've seen some AWESOME record decorations!