Wedding Party

Honorary Bridesmaids

Hi everyone! I am new to The Knot....just got engaged in Hawaii last week! 

We've been talking about wedding parties and have decided on 6 on each side...I have 3 sisters to include (2 on my side, 1 on my fiance's side) which leaves me room for 3 friends. 

Here is my question...I have a close knit group of 5 best friends from my sorority days....I also have 3 other best friends from high school and college. I have decided to put the group of 3 in the party and leave all 5 other girls out so that noone's feelings get hurt. However, I still would like them involved in the wedding...I was thinking of asking them to be Honorary Bridesmaids.

I would have a special job for each girl during the ceremony (two carrying down our young flower girl and ring bearer, one reading a passage during the ceremong and 2 greeting guests at the door). Our colors are purple, grey and peach...BM dresses are purple so I would ask the 5 honorary BM's to wear a dress of their choosing in grey....I would put the girls names in the program and have pictures done with them as well. I would also give them gifts for being a part of our day.

What are everyone's thoughts on this? Does this sound okay...or would the girls think they have jobs without the benefits of being BM's? 

If this is a good idea, how should I ask them? I wanted to do something cute...but I don't want anyone to accidentally think they are being asked to be BM and then get disappointed. I was thinking just a phone call and then send a follow up note or something....

Any thoughts or advice would be great! I am very new to wedding planning and just know that I would like to include all of my best friends in some way :)

Re: Honorary Bridesmaids