New Hampshire

Tell me if I'm crazy, please! Kinda long...

Hey ladies!

Newbie here!  I posted my first post the other day on the Wedding Classifieds board because I was hoping to find someone that was selling a Maggie Sottero Leoni dress.  I tried it on at Modern Bride, but forgot to look at the price tag before doing so, and it is $1400!  I have checked my area craigslist as well the craigslist sites for many major cities and anywhere I have family that could pick it up for me.  In doing a google search, the only places I could find that were selling the dress used were in Northern Ireland and the UK.  I also checked out sites such as Once Wed and other sites designed to buy/sell used dresses.

So, I have only been looking for a couple of weeks and my wedding is not until June, so I know that I have plenty of time and should not panic. BUT, I did find the dress on a Canadian craigslist.  Here's where the crazy part comes in: it is a seven hour one way drive (380 miles).  The dress is listed at $800 (roughly 840 once converted to USD).  If I figure in 100 bucks for gas (I drive a Civic) and maybe $40 for tolls, I am saving approx $450. 

The dress I tried on in the store was a size four and was so tight, my ribs hurt.  The dress for sale is size 8, which I think will probably be perfect, but even with alterations, I would still be saving money (I don't know how much alterations would cost).

What do you think of this plan?  Is it crazy?  Should I keep looking locally?  I was thinking of possibly driving up during my vaca in September and bringing some friends along to make it into a road trip adventure.  (I wouldn't go alone anyway for safety reasons.)  Other than driving up, I'm not sure how else to do the transaction.  If I sent the money and something was wrong with the dress, what recourse would I have?

One last point-I was thinking that I could probably sell the dress after the wedding for at least $600, so I would recoup most of my money after the fact.