Florida-South Florida
Options

a must read for all knotties!

So...my wedding planner asked me last week if I would help her work a wedding at the Miami Beach Botantical Gardens with her today.  I of course said yes....anything to help my planner out (and get paid too!)

I was nervous...never worked a wedding before...and never really worked alongside a wedding planner...but Lauren gave me a printed out sheet from the bride of our duties and I studied it!!  The last thing I want to do is mess up another bride's day!!!

While Lauren was at the hotel getting the wedding party prepped, I was at the venue decorating the tables, getting table numbers, placecards, vendors set up and doing everything!!!  it was crazy!  but you know what....I LOVED IT!! 

It was A LOT of work, and I never really saw the 'behind the scenes' of a wedding before...and it was an amazing process.

Knowing what I was doing and what Lauren was doing...makes me have a new found understanding for all the work of a wedding planner.  Now I know why she needed an assistant (her sister was the DOC for a wedding at The Breakers, that's why I was asked to step in)

I met the bride and the MOB...and the bride hugged me after seeing the decorated room.  It was an amazing feeling. 

So...the point....just to have a true understanding of ALL the things  your DOC will be doing for you the day of your wedding...and make sure to hug and thank them!

I wore flats....and my feet hurt so badly!! 

Re: a must read for all knotties!

• Options
    djoann958djoann958 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Sounds like you had a great time!  My daughter's reception is at the Miami Beach Botanical Gardens. Do you have any decorating suggestions? Was there anything today that you saw that you really liked? Thanks!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    YAY! I can't even imagine how much work goes into it but it's sooo wonderful that you have that experience now!