Not Engaged Yet
Options

Annoyed at... everyone telling me not to go to law school...or the truth?

I have a masters in human rights /international law, and am a director of a human rights program. I am paid decently for the non-profit field and get to travel.

But really my job isn't so great,  I am a glorified secretary with no job security. (My contracts are never for more than 6 months, and  I will never be able to get a permanent position). 

I have searched high and low for other human rights and development jobs, and  they don't pay anything, secondly, they are impossible to get(Everyone wants to save the world, so the jobs are competitive. ) and most  are temporary. 
This creates a very hostile work environment, where people are more concerned about keeping their jobs than the actual work they are doing. Not something I want to do for the rest of my life.

SO AS HARD AND EXPENSIVE as law school is, I want to go. I do have some background in law and feel that I could be a good lawyer.

I am fine having a job where I am not saving the world, in order to gain some job security and a decent ( not high-paid) salary.  I really would like to go into family or criminal law.  I just want an average 9-5 job, where I have to work hard and am challenged, but don't have to be a slave to my employer.

I wonder if LAW is SO bad that I won't be able to get what I want. From all the blogs and what everyone says, they say run while you have the chance.

OK run. But whereto?  Do I put more effort into finding a better job in my field?(Really I am not sure one exists that I could get, after 2 years of looking).   

Do I go back in get another Bachelors in science or math-fields are that are actually in demand?

DO I get an MBA?

I really though law is what I wanted, and I¨ve always enjoyed it, but really what everyone says about going to law school and being a lawyer scares me.

Re: Annoyed at... everyone telling me not to go to law school...or the truth?

• Options