Students
Options

Could my TA benefits change if we get married?

Hello All I am new on here by the way and my name is Kaitlin.
I don't know all the lingo but i'm sure i'll get it eventually!

Anyways I am starting my Masters this Fall at Washington State University in the Fine Arts program.  They offered me a Teachers Assistant position which provides me with a stipend, waived tuition and Health Insurance.  Is there any chance they would reduce what they have given me once I am married?

Please let me know if you have any ideas because this is my families major concern!

Re: Could my TA benefits change if we get married?

• Options
    I can't answer your question...but I just though it was funny that my name is Kaitlin too, I am a graduate student at WSU. As far as I know I do not think that your marital status has any effect on your stipend, that is all based on the fact that you are being paid for the service you provide for the department and is based on cost of living in the area...not your marital status.You should deffinetly ask, but I am pretty sure that your marital status doesn't effect your stipend package
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    I don't believe so.

My FI and I are getting married next May. He's going to grad school and will be working for a professor along with getting health insurance and stipend.

It'll work in your FI favor, actually. If he went to school & has fi. aid that needs to get paid back, payments will get postponed because you'll be in grad school.

We were told that by the fin. aid officer at our school last week... Since we'll be married and he'll be in school, my goverment loans will get pushed back till he graduates!

But, for your question... I defintely don't think being married will affect anything.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Your benefits shouldn't change because you're married.
  • Options