Chit Chat

Need Advice, Long Distance Newlyweds? Or Wait?

So, we got engaged Jan 23, 2008 while pursuing our undergraduate degrees, and wanted to wait until the summer after we graduated to get married (this summer). However, my plans have changed and I have decided to go back to school to get a different degree in a accelerated, year and a half long program that would begin in May. So now we are looking at getting married Jan 2011, while I'm on winter break and allowing us time for a honeymoon. I have plenty of time to get a bunch of planning done, as I graduated a semester early and am not in school now. I would finish my program Dec 2011, and we would only be an hour and 45 min apart so we could be together every weekend. We are used to long distance during summer and winter breaks as we are from different hometowns. But a friend of mine mentioned that she thinks we would miss out on the joy of being newlyweds. We've already been engaged for 2 years, and I really don't want to wait. Another option would be for me to commute 1 hr and 45 min both ways 5 days a week. Any thoughts/advice.

Re: Need Advice, Long Distance Newlyweds? Or Wait?

• Although its clearly not ideal, since you are used to doing long distance I don't think it'd be that big of a stretch, especially since its not for that long. A friend of mine from work lives apart from his husband and they only see eachother on the weekends when he drives out there. They've been doing this for the past 4 years and will continue to do this until he retires in 5 years.

So I think you both need to decide... do you want to get married now? Or would you just wait til you live closer together?

I can imagine how hard it'll be for you. But just remember, its not something that will last forever :)