Oregon

What's the lowest budget i could get away with?

Hello all I'm extremely new to all of this wedding stuff. I've only been engaged for about a month. My FI wants to wait until we have enough saved to even set a date for our wedding. But i don't want to wait too long. So what do  you think is a good budget to have a nice wedding? Neither of us make much money and I'm feeling a little discouraged that we may never have enough money. We really don't want to do a courthouse wedding. We want the church and as much of the experience as possible. So please help. Thank you!

August 2011 sig challenge: Fave e-pic Photobucket Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: What's the lowest budget i could get away with?

• edited December 2011
    It depends entirely on how many people you plan to invite. If you're having a small wedding, people do it for a thousand bucks. Bigger invite list means more money ends up being spent.
  • reddy123reddy123 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i agree with pp, make a list of the 40-60 must have people. Once you start having 100+ people things get spendy. Once you know how many people, then you can shop around casually for a venue (you can never be too early for this, some girls book two years out). You may be able to get a nice church to cut you a deal and have something bigger with just appetizers and finger food... ?
    Photobucket
  • reddy123reddy123 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    btw, to answer you question, I personally think 2,500-3,000 is the lowest you can go. That would be with the appetizer menu for 50 people. I'm not any official quoter though ;)
    Photobucket
  • edited December 2011
    Totally depends on what kind of reception you want to have and the setting you want to have it in.
    If you want an afternoon reception, no alcohol and a small group than prob $1000 or less