Just Engaged and Proposals

rhodium dip help!

Hi I am recently engaged and I have heard about white gold rings having to be dipped in rhodium. My fiance paid for insurance at Helzberg (where my e-ring is from) so that when I do have it dipped, it won't cost anything. I have some questions though.

How often will this need to be done? And how long does it take? Do they send it off for a week or so, or do they do this in the store?

I am fairly new to the rhodium thing. My class ring was 10k white gold, as was a previous sapphire ring from my fiance that I wore for four years before we became engaged, and I never had either of them rhodium dipped, and they do not look yellow.

Re: rhodium dip help!

• Gah.  I seriously hate the use of the word "dip" because that is definitely not what happens.  I know that people use it constantly, but it still drives me nuts! It's plated people, plated!

Anyway, the quickness to which a ring will yellow depends on various factors.

1) How often do you wear your ring? Meaning, do you take it off when you shower, cook, clean with harsh chemicals?  The more you wear it in these circumstances, the faster the plating will wear off.

2) Does your body naturally "eat" the plating faster? Some people have chemistry that is more acidic than others, which wears the plating

So, if you want to preserve the integrity of your rhodium plating, and even the integrity of the prongs and have fewer scratches, etc, you should remove your rings whenever you are cleaning, doing laundry, working out, etc.  All of these things lead to keeping your ring in better condition for longer.
  • edited January 2010
    Mine started turning yellow about 7 or 8 months after the last time I had it plated.  I'm holding out a few more months to have it replated, since the wedding isn't that far off. 

It depends on your jeweler, and how busy they are.  We got my rings at Whitehall jewelers, which is now closed, so I had it plated last time at a local jeweler.