Wedding Etiquette Forum

Exception to "no kids" rule

For many different reasons, FI and I decided not to invite children to our wedding. We're making sure to be polite about it with invitations (not including "adults only" or anything of the sort, only addressing it to parents, putting names/number of seats, etc.)

The only exceptions we are making are for my little brother and OOT families. In total that makes 5 children and they all happen to be 12 years old. Perfect!

Well I work as a nanny and the more I think about it, the more I want to invite the children I take care of. I am inviting my boss & her husband, and would love the three children to attend (ages 5, 8, and 10). But I already know some family friends will talk and question why they were invited and their children were not..

What would you do? Would you risk the potential drama? I would like to think people would understand that I am close to these children but don't want anyone to feel offended either.

Wedding Countdown Ticker

image 123 Invited
image 96 Are ready to party
image 27 Will be missing out
image 0 Are undecided

Re: Exception to "no kids" rule

• In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_etiquette_exception-to-no-kids-rule-1?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:9Discussion:c83b5297-7b2d-49b5-aa87-b0103d230f80Post:bfcee893-cf99-4309-9b9d-06caadf1a256">Exception to "no kids" rule</a>: