Chit Chat
Options

for some reason it amuses me when...

someone will put "it's my first wedding" when they are asking for help. I understand some people get married more than once, but do they plan that before they get married? I just feel like it's not a relevant thing to say. Maybe something more along the lines of " I'm new at this" would suffice....am i overanalyzing this?I feel like I see it in a lot of posts
Anniversary

Re: for some reason it amuses me when...

• Options
    I think it's just a habit to say something along those lines when you're doing something you've never done before. I don't think anyone plans on having more than one wedding.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Anniversary 
  • Options
    It amuses me as well. I think it kind of goes without saying most of the time. But as a second time bride I do point out that this is my second most of the time!
    Photobucket photo 899306-2148.jpg
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • Options
    It amuses me only when they use it as some sort of excuse for not knowing how to properly host.   

In my world, the only difference between a wedding reception and having guests over is it's larger in scale.   The same rules apply.  

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • Options
    I bugs me when people say "This is my first AND ONLY wedding".....somehow implying that those of use who have second weddings chose to find ourlselves in this situation, or that our weddings are less special because we've done it before.  I'm sorry, but I didn't choose for my first husband to die when I was 27.   
    DSC_9275
  • Options