Canada-Ontario
Options

Caligraphy

Hi ladies,

Do any of you know how to write Italic style calligraphy? How long did it take you to learn it? I was thinking of writing out the addresses for the outer envelopes in calligraphy but I'm just starting to learn so I am bit worried that I will screw it up.

I have about 75 envelopes that I would need to do. The other option is that I suppose I can get it done professionally but I just don't how much it cost to do that. I am doing my own invitations from a kit because I'm on a budget. 

any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Re: Caligraphy

• Options
    ring_popring_pop member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Sort of... I started dabbling with calligraphy pens when I was a kid and I've learned a few basic fonts. It's far from professional quality but if you generally have pretty neat writing, it's pretty easy to make it look really spiffy with a calligraphy pen.

I think it's totally doable. Just don't worry about any specific font and try out your normal (neat) writing with a calligraphy pen.
    Baby Birthday Ticker
    Baby #2: Surprise BFP 9.19.12, EDD 5.24.13, natural m/c 10.19.13 at 9w
  • Options
    LittlinLittlin member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I did my invites with a calligraphy pen and I am in no ways a pro.  This is how they turned out (my writing is not very nice, normally):

• Options
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_canada-toronto_caligraphy?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Local%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:613Discussion:83ce1a9f-0283-44e2-90e5-1160b0561cabPost:5b35e6df-0a77-4004-90c6-0c5960b9aafb">Re: Caligraphy</a>:
    [QUOTE]I did my invites with a calligraphy pen and I am in no ways a pro.  This is how they turned out (my writing is not very nice, normally):
    Posted by Littlin[/QUOTE]<div>
    </div><div>hey there,</div><div>