Getting in Shape
Options

Late night snacking...opinions..

Sooo let me give you a breif understanding as to why I am a late night snacker. I work in a hospital second shift (3p-11p). By the time I get home, and shower and such its probably about 12-1230. Then I'll eat eat something, depending on how hungry I am, depends on how heavy it is, whether its a tangerine or a bowl of cereal or something. And when i get out of work, I'm pretty wired, so then I am up until about 3-4 in the morning. And then i sleep til about 12-1 in the afternoon, and follow the same cycle over and over. I have been working second shift for so long it's hard to get out of this pattern. I have even tried waking up in the morning when FI is up getting ready for work at about 730, and I STILL am awake until 4 the following morning after being up all day. The way I look at is this, Normal people go to work until about 5, come home, eat dinner about 6 or 7, then are in bed around like 10 or 11. But because When people are getting out shortly after I'm going in, My day is set slightly back in time.

Does this make sense? Like is my body programmed by now where it wont affect my digestion or is my body still programmed where i should be eating earlier in the day like normal. I am having a slightly hard time losing weight, and i was wondering if my work/sleep habits had something to contribute to it?? Any and all advice will be appreciated!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Re: Late night snacking...opinions..

• Options
    Wow, I think you and I may be the same person! However I work 1900-0700, but I follow the same pattern.
    Instead of snacking after work, I just went to bed. I too was wired up but I took some Melatonin or a Benadryl, just until I could get back into a normal schedule. I also set an alarm in the morning to make sure I get up, instead of sleeping in all day. Sometimes you have to just be tired those few days while you are adjusting to a new schedule. 
  • Options