Getting in Shape
Options

dumb question?

This is kind of a dumb question but I'm new to this tracking stuff...so I'm using my fitness pal to track diet/exercise. When I exercise it tells me I need to eat more and I don't really get how that works. I feel like if I eat more calories I'm defeating the purpose of the exercise. Can anyone help me out with that?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: dumb question?

• Options
    edited July 2012
    You need to eat enough to fuel your body. If you exercise too much and don't eat enough, your body will begin to behave in a manner that is counter productive- burning fat instead of muscle, for example, or going into starvation mode if you're really undereating, which will actually result in weight *gain*.

Edit for clarity:
    Tools like  my fitness pal  and sparkpeople have calculators that will estimate how many calories a given exercise will burn, and recommend you adjust your diet accordingly so you don't starve your body. 

• Options
    The calorie amount myfitnesspal gives you is based on your base metabolic rate which is with no exercise calculated in. Meaning if you eat that many calories a day even without exercise you'll lose weight. When you exercise and burn more calories you need to eat those back to make sure your body has enough fuel to function. If you don't you can send your body into starvation mode which will hinder your weightloss. Saying that I think mfp estimates high on the calories burned so I only eat a portion of those calories back and try to listen to my body on being hungry to know if I got enough. Also this doesn't mean shouldn't exercise because it will help boost your metabolism and overall health by exercising which in turn will lead to better weightloss results.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options