Catholic Weddings

Church wedding?

I did post this in another forum, but I didn't know this one existed (I'm new to the message boards) so I figured I'd post it in here as well so I get your input as well.

My fiance and I (still so WEIRD saying that lol) are both Catholic.  We even went to same Catholic school as kids and while we aren't ultra-religious we know it'd mean a lot to my parents and grandma that we get married in a church.  To be honest it isn't something either of us are opposed to, we just hadn't thought we would be able to.

And here's why; while neither of us has ever been married before I do have a six year old son from a previous relationship and by the time we get married Little Man will be 8.  I know that sex before marriage and children as a result are a big "no no" for the church, so I didn't think we'd be able to get married in one.  I don't want to start calling churches and priests asking questions if we're just going to be denied in the end.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated :)

While, as I said, we aren't ultra-religious, we do make it a point to try and get to church once a week at least, but work schedules don't always allow that.  Also, my faith is important to me, especially after I had my son, and it's continued to be important throughout the past year and a half as between my fiance and I we lost four very important people in our lives.  I guess my point is that it wouldn't just be to please my parents/grandma for us to get married in a church, but something we've discussed as well.

Re: Church wedding?

• There is no reason why you can't be married in the Catholic church because you have a child from a previous relationship....not marriage. And even if it was a marriage you could try for an annulment to be granted. But since both of you weren't married before you are fine.