Students
Options

School While Married?

My fiance and I are hoping to get married sometime in 2012; we don't have a definite date set yet. My biggest concern is school. He will be done with school by this point and have his degree, but I will have a year or less to go before I can get my degree.

We really want to get married in 2012 (we just don't want to wait another year!), but I'm wondering if going to school while being a newlywed is simply too much? I suppose that in the end it depends on how I can handle it, but I'm wondering if anyone else has done the same and how it worked for them?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: School While Married?

• Options
    It depends on each person, but we got married in Dec 2002.  I graduated with my BA in May 2003 and went right into grad school, finishing that in May 2004.  H was also in school when we got married.  He dropped out in Feb 2003 to make a major change.  For him this meant starting over as none of his credits transferred.  He graduated in Aug 2007, 4.5 years after we got married.

For me, finishing my bachelor's while we were married wasn't that big of a deal.  Since I was a senior and I had way more credits than needed, I planned my schedule so that I only had to go to school T/Th.  It was so much easier than it is now, even!  Grad school, on the other hand, was tough but we made it work.
  • Options
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_students_school-married?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:684Discussion:b137b0f0-e8ca-4229-9051-5214cce1d3abPost:8b018a41-7915-4480-bbdd-7ff21c070f38">School While Married?</a>: