Military Brides
Options

Confused

Ok so im new to blogging and theknot community.  Anyways, my fiance and i are both in the air force.  i am from pittsburgh, pa and he is from dallas, tx.  Neither of our families can afford a big "to-do" wedding and we dont want one.  What we want is simple, romantic and cheap. 
Obviously the first dilema is that we are from diferent sides of the country so we can't have both families.  We are now stuck between having the wedding in pittsburgh with my family with a justice of the peace or just "eloping" so to say to the bahamas and having it on the beach by ourselves. 
I would love to have the wedding in pittsburgh with my family but am nervous because my parents are alcoholics and my family is kind of crazy.  I think im scared that they might mess it up.  but on the other hand if i have it up there my family could be with me and support me and my dad can five me away.
My fiance is open to either and just wants to say "i do".  i know it shouldnt be hard to decide but i want it to be right the first time..... please help and give me your thoughts....

Re: Confused

• Options
    edited December 2011

You could invite both sets of families to go with you to the bahamas.. and if they decline then at least it isnt your fault.

• Options
    meltoinemeltoine member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I think I feel almost as torn as you do about this!

On one hand, there is something to be said for the drama-free Bahamian elopement. On the other hand, I feel like weddings are a family affair and yours would be disappointed if they couldn't be there.