Students
Options

Wedding Loan (long, sorry!)

Hello ladies! I'm a long-time lurker, newish poster - Anyways, I am bringing up the "forbidden" topic of taking out a loan for a wedding - but under different circumstances than most, I think.  Here are unique things about FI's and my position in life:
(1) FI is a physician (a 1st yr ENT resident right now) & I will be a physician in less than 3 months
(2) We both did military scholarships to pay for ALL of school
(3) As a newly commissioned officer I will be able to take out up to 25K with a VERY VERY low interest rate
(4) FI has already bought a condo; actually it's his 2nd condo (1st house bought outright with inheritance money) and the one we will live in together is well below what the Army will pay us for our housing allowance.

So we are both relatively debt-free with stable good incomes (well, him for now, but me very soon) with a condo and the ability to take out a low interest loan - is this justification enough for a loan since the interest rate would be lower than what it is on a credit card?? [[with the potential to sell his 2nd condo, we are waiting for the housing market to go up a little more]]

**sorry for the long post, I posted here b/c I am a student & thought you all would understand more of where I'm coming from Smile and TIA!!**
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Wedding Loan (long, sorry!)

• Options
    I still don't think it is, even under your circumstances. it is ONE DAY and it's stupid to go into debt for it, imo. if you cannot afford the wedding of your dreams now, postpone the wedding, or scale back your dream for one you can afford. the marriage is no less valid if you have to wear David's Bridal instead of Vera, or if you have BBQ buffet instead of plated filet mignon, or if you get married at the courthouse by the JOP instead of at the Plaza (channeling Bride Wars here).