Not Engaged Yet
Options

Work/vacation time rant

I'm a grad student and today in our group meeting my advisor just expressed displeasure that all of us are taking time off for Christmas. It's in our department's official policy that we get the time off from Christmas through New Years, and all of my group members are basically taking off exactly that amount of time- no more. And yet, he told us that we are abusing the vacation policy. WTF? I'm completely at a loss for words.

So...
How much vacation time do you get at your job per year?
Does your boss get angry if you take it?
Are you happy with the amount of time that you get?
Married! :) 5/19/12 The Domesticals

Re: Work/vacation time rant

• Options
    edited December 2011
    In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/special-topic-wedding-boards_not-engaged-yet_workvacation-time-rant?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Special%20Topic%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:136Discussion:360c4d37-4f73-49d3-9b24-521e53cfc9dePost:dd6183dd-e489-4e5d-bb31-860bf6eab108">Work/vacation time rant</a>:
    [QUOTE]So... How much vacation time do you get at your job per year? Does your boss get angry if you take it? Are you happy with the amount of time that you get?
    Posted by mookow86[/QUOTE]

I'm probably an odd-ball, but my workplace generally get about 4 weeks off total.  Our boss doesn't really care when we take off, provided that 1) we have a backup for our projects and 2) at least 1 person in each location is in office from our team.  It's actually our project teams that give us grief about taking time off, especially when they get behind schedule and still want all of the testing that was originally agreed upon (with the original schedule).  I've cancelled/moved around vacation a lot, though we have to take a certain amount every year since anything over 150 hours doesn't carry over.  Sometimes, I almost think we get too much time off, but when I get sick, I'm sort of grateful for it.